I may regret this…

It’s around 3 in the morning. I can’t sleep and I stumbled upon WordPress whilst doing a search on something else and the next thing I know I am attempting to blog.

Why can’t I sleep?

Lots of reasons, some of which involve the fact it would have been the 50th birthday of my husband today (14th May) but he died in January but that’s a whole other story I’m not up to going into right now.

Another reason is I have spent years on writing a book and, prompted by hubby’s death, taken the plunge to get it published. Knowing I needed to capitalise on my new found sense of urgency, I have gone down the ‘Self-Publishing route. I’m using Grosvenor House Publishing who have been really great in my dealings with them so far.

Earlier this week I signed off the final proof for the cover and got the e-mail to say it was going for print run today. I have ordered 30 copies, in addition to the 5 free copies, and made the big mistake tonight of looking at the cover proof again before going to bed.

How come, having read the words in my Word doc many, many times; and having read the proof which came direct from those words many, many times; do I now spot I have a superfluous ‘the’ in there? Being the back cover it sticks out like a sore thumb now but it didn’t seem to be there before? Not the Publisher’s fault, I should have proof read better or held back to give time to get it professional read.

Ho hum…

Posted on May 14, 2011, in Publishing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

